Fines and penalties are steep for violating PA driving laws.
Today on Wellsboro Home Page, Chief Jim Bodine of the Wellsboro Police Department reminds us of the importance of knowing and following our Pennsylvania State School Bus stopping laws. He also reminds us about two Halloween dates where extra caution should be taken while driving.
Did you know that the penalties for violating Pennsylvania’s school bus stopping laws are a 60-day driver license suspension, 5 points on your driving record, and a $250.00 fine?
First of all, you must stop for a stopped school bus (with red lights flashing and stop arm extended) and remain at least 10 feet from the school bus. You must stop if the bus is at an intersection, whether or not the intersection is marked with a stop sign. You must stop on roadways with painted lines or rigid/grooved dividers.
You DO NOT have to stop on a highway with clearly defined dividing sections or physical barriers, but only if the school bus is on the opposite side of the road.
Halloween is a holiday where adults are now found celebrating almost as much as the kids. But remember, impairment begins with the first drink. Buzzed driving is considered drunk driving. Don’t take a chance on hurting yourself or someone else. Police will be on the lookout for any kind of impaired driving. Last year, nearly 12,000 crashes occurred in Pennsylvania involving alcohol, and more than 400 people were killed in those crashes.
There are two dates to be aware of this year in the Wellsboro area: first, Saturday October 25th will be the day that the borough of Wellsboro will have their parade and trick-or-treating. Halloween is officially celebrated six days later, on October 31st. This will be another time to be on heightened alert for both children and impaired drivers, who may be on the road. Be very alert. Watch out for the other guy and drive safely.