Lamphier, Davis named Athletes of the Year

Wellsboro High School holds annual Athletic Awards Ceremony

by Ed Weaver – June 6, 2017

Seniors Brandon Lamphier and Janessa Davis were named Male and Female Athletes of the Year at the Wellsboro Athletic Department and the Wellsboro Hornets Sports Booster Club’s annual athletic awards presentation on Monday, June 5.

Wellsboro Athletic Director Matt Rendos and Principal Rob Kreger recognized all Wellsboro athletic teams for their accomplishments throughout the 2016-17 season and team MVP’s and coaches awards were presented. Following the team introductions and awards, the annual Special Awards and Memorial Awards were presented.

Special Awards

The U.S. Army Reserve Scholar Athlete awards were presented to seniors Kelsey Logan and Alden Weiner.

The U.S. Marine Corps Distinguished Athlete awards were presented to seniors Janessa Davis and Jacob Singer.

The Babe Ruth Good Sportsmanship awards were presented to Kelsey Logan and David Straniere.

The School Spirit awards were presented to seniors Kaeli Butters and Casey Hoover.

The District IV PIAA Sportsmanship awards were presented to seniors Olivia Kurtz and Alden Weiner.

The PIAA District IV awards were presented to seniors Kirsten Florio and Ethan Nichols.

The Samuel F. McInroy Athletic Award was presented to senior Alden Weiner.

Memorial Awards

The Roger Dibble Memorial Award is given in memory of Roger Dibble who was a varsity wrestler at WHS from 1961-1964. The 2016-17 recipient is sophomore Robert Brown.

The Ray Strykowski Memorial Award is presented to a female basketball player in memory of Coach Strykowski who coached the Wellsboro Lady Hornets. The 2016-17 recipient is Janessa Davis.

The Larue Wilson Memorial Award is presented to a male basketball player in memory of Mr. Wilson who passed away in September 1973. The 2016-17 recipient is junior Quinn Henry.

The John Wilcox Memorial Award is given to a member of the varsity football team who has exhibited the desire and the drive to develop fully his playing potential and sportsmanship, and has demonstrated the sincerity and the devotion which truely characterized John’s approach to this goal. The 2016-17 recipient is Brandon Lamphier.

The Rev. Wade Stewart Memorial Award is given to a member of the varsity football team in memry of Samuel Wade Stewart who served the people of Wellsboro until his passing in 1988. The 2016-17 recipient is Ethan Nichols.

The Laura Grove Patterson Memorial Award is given to the top player of the girls’ tennis team in memory of Ms. Patterson who served on the faculty at Wellsboro High School. The 2016-17 recipient is senior Joelle Quimby.

The Shelly Taynton Memorial Award is given to a lady who is the member of the senior class. The 2016-17 recipient is Kelsey Logan.

The Male Athlete of the Year and Female Athlete of the Year awards are given in memory of John Antoine Prevost who was born on May 9, 1935. He lived most of his life in Wellsboro where he is remembered as an outstanding student leader, athlete, and positive example to his school and community. The 2016-17 recipients are Brandon Lamphier and Janessa Davis.

Idea/Concept: Ed Weaver
Photography: Johanna Vogt
Writing: Ed Weaver

Advertising (Inside)

New Creation Events Presents Unspoken with David Dunn

Circle W Sports

UPMC Susquehanna

Laurel Health Centers

Penn Wells Hotel Lodge

Cafe 1905

Citizens & Northern Bank

Vertical Edge Media

Dunhams Department Store

First Citizens Community Bank

Sherwood Motel

Bethany's Jewelry and Design

Johnnyz HOT ROD Cafe

Peggy's Candies & Gifts
Matthews Motor Company

Terreuz Jewelry

Akikos Floral Arts

Pops Culture Shoppe

Three Springs Ministries

Accounting with Attitude

In My Shoes

Wellsboro Woodlands

Ginn & Vickery Attorneys at Law

Dunhams Do-it Center

Wellsboro Inn on the Green

Tony's Italian Cuisine

The Fifth Season